NEHFES has just completed repairs to the stone walls and railings of the mikvah.
After last summer’s highly successful three-week University of Connecticut summer field school archeological excavation under the direction of UConn’s Dr. Nicholas F. Bellantoni, Connecticut’s State Archaeolgist, and Dr. Stuart S. Miller, Profesor of Judaic Studies, the fascinating story of the ancient stone mikvah (or ritual bath) has begun to emerge.
We know that the congregation had some sort of “mikvah” from its inception in 1890/92, but the community house that had the mikvah (poured concrete steps covered with wood) in the basement was probably built between 1910 and 1914.
The University of Connecticut’s press release on June 13, 2013 by Tom Breen, reveals the outcomes of the excavation. Professor Millers was deeply impressed with the religiousity of this rural community.
Both experts made a presentation of their findings at the annual NEHFES members meeting on April 21, 2013.